Reorganization Meeting January 3, 2022

Councilwoman Ruszkowski announced that all newly elected officials were previously sworn earlier by Magisterial District Judge Charles Moore and all may take their seats.

The meeting was called to order by Councilwoman Ruszkowski at 7:03pm in Council Chambers at 1 Etze Avenue, Mount Pleasant, PA 15666. The Pledge of Allegiance was said and there was a moment of silence for Mayor Gerald "Jerry" Lucia who passed away on December 17, 2021 and for our deployed troops. Councilwoman Ruszkowski directed Borough Manager Landy to take roll. Councilpersons present included Barnes, Bailey, Cholock, Phillabaum, Barrick, Lasko, Stevenson, Wojnar, and Ruszkowski. Deanna Istik, Solicitor was present. Councilwoman Ruszkowski stated we have a quorum.

Matters of Business:

Councilwoman Ruszkowski called for nominations and elections for President of Council. Councilwoman Bailey nominated Councilwoman Ruszkowski. Nomination was seconded by Councilman Cholock. There were no other nominations. Councilwoman Ruszkowski was elected as Council President.

Councilwoman Ruszkowski called for nominations for Vice-President. Councilwoman Bailey nominated Councilman Ken Phillabaum. Nomination was seconded by Councilman Cholock. There were no other nominations. Councilman Phillabaum was elected as Council Vice President.

The meeting was turned over to newly elected Council President Ruszkowski.

Council President Ruszkowski called for nominations for President Pro-Tem. Councilwoman Barnes nominated Councilman Richard Cholock. Nomination was seconded by Councilman Phillabaum. There were no other nominations. Councilman Cholock was elected Council President Pro-Tem.

Appointment of Borough Officials:

Council President Ruszkowski read the following appointments to be made, if appointment is made without an objection, no second is required:

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Lasko to appoint Deanna Istik as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor. Motion seconded by Councilman Wojnar. Motions carried 9-0. Deanna Istik is appointed as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor.

Motion was tabled to retain a Borough Auditor.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to retain K-2 Engineering as Mount Pleasant Borough Building Inspectors. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilman Cholock to retain Mayor Gerald Lucia, in memory as Fire Chief/Fire Marshal for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Motion seconded by Councilman Phillabaum. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Lasko to retain Cory Snyder as Emergency Management Coordinator for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Motion seconded by Councilman Cholock. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilman Wojnar to retain Lance Bentler as Emergency Management Deputy Coordinator for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilman Cholock to appoint Attorney Leslie J. Mlakar of Avolio Law Group, LLC as Solicitor of the Planning Commission for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Stevenson. Motion carried 9-0. A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to appoint Attorney Tim Witt as Solicitor of the Zoning Hearing Board for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilman Phillabaum to appoint Robert Regola as Government Consultant and Grants for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Bailey. Motion carried 9-0.

Borough Appointments:

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to appoint Councilman Ken Phillabaum as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilman Cholock to appoint Councilwoman Diane Bailey as Alternate Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Barnes. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Lasko to appoint Jeff Landy as Representative to the Library Board. Motion seconded by Councilman Cholock. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilman Cholock to appoint Councilwoman Diane Bailey as Alternate Representative to the Library Board. Motion seconded by Councilman Phillabaum. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to appoint Councilwoman Patience Barnes to the Tax Collection Committee. Motion seconded by Councilman Phillabaum. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to appoint Caprice Mills as alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to appoint Jeff Landy as second alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Stevenson. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to appoint Mike Ruszkowski as Chairman of the Vacancy Board. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. Motion carried 8-0. Council President Ruszkowski abstained.

General Administrative Business:

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Council meeting procedures. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Barnes. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to designate President, Vice President and Borough Manager as authorized signers for Borough fund accounts. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Stevenson. Motion carried 9-0.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to designate depositories of Borough funds as Standard Bank, Scottdale Bank & Trust, a division of Mid Penn Bank, and Somerset Trust Company. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Stevenson. Motion carried 9-0.

Miscellaneous & Adjournment:

A motion was made by Councilwoman Bailey to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Barnes. Motion carried 9-0.

Meeting Adjourned 7:13pm